Women's Book Prizes Fire Up Literary Canon

Tuesday, July 22, 2008

Literary prizes for women continue to stir controversy about the benefit of putting a female prefix in front of a writer's work. But the founder of the Orange Prize says it helps flag an ongoing absence of women from serious short lists.

Bookmark and Share

Kate Mosse

(WOMENSENEWS)--There's one--the Willa--for women writing stories set in the West, offered by the Colorado nonprofit Women Writing the West.

The $25,000 Rona Jaffe prize for up-and-comers is bestowed annually to a handful of writers by the foundation named after the famous author.

The Gift of Freedom from A Room of Her Own Foundation in Placitas, N.M., aims to fund a female artist's full-time work. Meanwhile, the Elisabeth A. McPherson Award for Women Writers hosts female authors in a Victorian house in Washington state each November.

There's no way to count all the prizes that, by honoring female writers, work to push women into the canon of serious literature.

Many support the beginning of a career or a project, helping a writer cover child care expenses or take time off from work. Others offer retreat time and space so that she can write in an inspiring and focused setting.

Perhaps the best known of all is the Orange Broadband Prize for Fiction, an international award named for the British mobile technology company that sponsors it. Since 1996 it has hailed novels written in English by women, including those who are transgender.

In June England's Rose Tremain won the Orange for her novel "The Road Home." A separate Orange Prize for first-time authors went to Joanna Kavenna for "Inglorious."

Shortage of Women on Prize Lists

Kate Mosse, the Orange's co-founder and co-director, said the idea for a prize to celebrate international writing by women occurred to her in 1991, when the U.K.'s Man Booker Prize short list of six honorees had no female writers. That year's long list was never made public. "It wasn't that this was a bad thing, per se, but more that the judges had not even noticed there were no women (on their short list)."

The Man Booker short list that caught Mosse's eye was hardly an exception. Among the 41 winners since the Booker's inception in 1969 (there were two winners in 1975 and 1992; the 2008 prize has yet to be awarded), only 13 women took the top honor. Among them is the most recent, Anne Enright.

The unbalanced ratio for the Man Booker--which for four decades has given awards to the best fiction published in the British Commonwealth and Ireland--parallels a larger trend.

Of 104 persons honored by the Nobel Prize in Literature, only 11 have been female, the latest being Doris Lessing in 2007. In the 91-year history of the Pulitzer Prize, female authors won 27 times for fiction. Women won 12 of 37 National Book Critics Circle fiction awards and 15 of 57 National Book Awards for fiction.

With its all-female jury and long list, the Orange was controversial when it debuted in 1996. It continues to spur an annual debate in the blogosphere and wider media about whether adding the female prefix to a writer's identification could limit the universality of her work.

"The Orange Prize is a sexist con-trick" was the headline for one recent column in the U.K.'s Telegraph.

0 COMMENTS | Login or Sign Up to post comments



Women's Writing Fires Up Summer Reading Lists

Our History

U.S. Writers Get Canon to Call Their Own


WuDunn and Kristof Say Century Belongs to Women


27 Grandmothers Tell Their Sides of Many Stories


Younger Readers Face New Adventures in Censorship


Pen-Wielding Women Have Powerhouse Year


Women Tripped 2007 Literary Light Fantastic


Female Africans Take Lead in Prize-Winning Fiction


Women's Bookstores Dwindle to Stalwart Few